Sunday, October 19, 2008

General update

Well...we moved 5 weeks ago and I've been too damn lazy to actually post about it up until now. It was okay, got totally frustrated with a couple of the people helping us move as they had total disregard for our property, managed to run my Grandma's car into a fence post (don't ask, she shouldn't have let me move the car anyway, I'm unlicensed), and hurt my back.

We've only just cleared out the middle room completely, even though Sera moved over here on the 23rd. At least she now has a full room, not just mattress and case space, and also has closet space.

As far as Sera living here goes, I think it's going okay. Mum and I do things completely different from how she and her family do, so she's having to adjust and we're having to make allowances for the differences, but as long as there's communication between us all, it should be okay.

I managed to dislocate my right shoulder last Friday (Halloween). Not fun. So Mum had to call an ambulance (thank God for Ambulance Cover!) and I got taken to the nearest hospital. I was pumped full of Fentanyl and then the nurse gave me NOS and popped my shoulder back in. That would have hurt like hell if it weren't for the gas, haha. So now I have to do light exercise to regain proper movement in my arm, and I need to see an orthopaedic specialist.

I saw the orthopaedic specialist yesterday, and he said that my shoulder is likely to dislocate again, so I need to build my muscles up in my arms and shoulders. I'm contemplating taking up Pilates as that's one of the few workouts I can handle with my back. I may only do home stuff, but if it isn't too expensive, I may also join a Pilates class.

On a better note, Abe and I had our one year anniversary last weekend. We didn't do anything for just us, but we went out for dinner at Spargos (an Italian restaurant) with Wynona, Alex and Lucien (Alex's son). It was pretty fun. Typical me had a Caesar salad without the whole anchovies. It was delicious! I have no idea what the others had, haha. But overall, it was a great evening!

This weekend is looking pretty boring for me, as I'm at home until Monday and Sera's not here. I'm cooking dinner tonight (or at least attempting to with my shoulder being sore and all. I'm making an Asian-ish stir-fry with beef and green veggies. I've made up the sauce for it and hopefully it'll turn out nice. I'll also cook some rice to go with it. I'll post again sometime (if I remember and let you know how it went! Wish me luck!

Anyway, I should go and get dinner at least partway started.

Bye!

- beckoned

No comments: